My Russian Pointe Review

My Russian Pointe Rubin Review:

First of all let me just give you some information: I have Russian pointe, (Rubin, V cut I think) I have been dancing en pointe for about a year. My Russian pointes are my second pair, I’m going on to my third pair of pointe shoes. And for a quick sum up, I have mixed emotions about Rubin Russian pointes.

All Russian pointes are pre- arched in some way. Others have bigger arches then others. Personally, I think having a pre-arch is beneficial to a dancer, however because of the pre-arch this means the shank and the shoes are incredibly hard. I have worn my Russian shoes for nearly six months, doing regular pointe classes and they are still not broken in. In fact, I tried so hard to break them in the next day in a pointe class, the back of the pointe shoe snapped. The back of my pointe shoe looks like someone has slit the shoe with a knife. The crack, thankfully, for now hasn’t affected the way I move and dance en pointe, but it still shouldn’t happen!

Another downer is, the shoes are extremely loud -though not making a sound when performing a pirouette on them. I have to say, the shoes give you incredible balance, which is always helpful when working in the centre. Though as my teacher  explained to me today, the pointe shoe is doing all the work for me without letting me work through the feet.

What I was very happy about when I first got them though, was they were so much less painful than my super soft Freeds. I suppose having very hard shoes does come with some advantages.

Do let me know if you would like me to a review on my Freeds, I did not have a very good experience at all. Also I’m so sorry I haven’t posted for ages. Please feel free to comment below. Shout out to Molly who commented asking for a dance injury post. I shall be posting regular dance warnings and tips covering injuries.

Thanks again,

FH

Leave a comment